[1998 Events reviewed]

These are the reviews for 1998 events and club nights.
Click on the thumbnails below to view larger versions of flyers.
Note :- This page contains opinions and therefore if you have a problem,
I suggest you email me.

Also available :- Reviews for 1993, 1994, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and now 2015.

--==*==--

*NOTE* I KNOW some pix are busted...tryin to rescan em!

[Thumbnail]
-== Serious House and Garage : [Fri 17/1/98] ==-


DJ's :- Outside (Speed Garage and Hard House)
Kurt 'Quickmix' Johnson (UK), Greg Packer, Cody, Kriece, Dave Jackson.
Inside (Old School and Big Beats)
DJ Dance(UK - alias Kurt 'Quickmix' Johnson!), JJ, Greg Packer, Rewind, Hutcho, Leroy.
Attractions :- 20k of sound, 4 decks for mixing, intelligent lighting and more.
Venue :- Club 418, Murray St Perth
This was quite a good party...although the inside was left as is, the outdoor arena had a lot of really good lighting and gave the impression of a proper outdoor event. However, the main problem of the night being when the music was good inside, everyone came in, with people only venturing outside when the music was at its best, leaving the better setup pretty empty most of the night. Not bad.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Slipmatt : [Sat 17/1/98] ==-


DJ's :- Slipmatt(UK), Greg Packer, Kevin, Leroy, Freestyle and Menis
Well among some turmoil in the promotions world Slipmatt returned to Gravity once more. Well I was only there a short while as I played at 418, but I was in there just before Slipmatt arrived...Leroy was rippin it up on the decks. One thing I will say Slipmatt is a nice guy and always has time for a chat with people, more than most internationals these days. Unusual crowd and a lot of people were complaining about the entry price...fair enough too. Kev said it was going off most of the night. Major complaint tickets being $25 Not $15 as advertised on the door.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Yummy II : [Sat 24/1/98] ==-


DJ's :- Nelson, Kriece, Rudy, Mr.Whippy, Puff, Emmanuel, with live sets by NU23 and Shimmer.
We got to Player's Nightclub about 1:30am after DJ Finesse's "Mash Up" in the hills, so arriving the worse for wear. There didn't seem to be too many people in there, although those that were, were giving it some. Some good Trance was played, but no-one seemed to know who was on at what time. Ah well. I was there till 4am...and enjoyed it a lot. The Nazi door staff have gotta go though.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Krackerjack 98 : [Mon 26/1/98] ==-


Mounts Bay Road Reserve...20 unspecified DJ's, put on by Purveyor Music. The few I spoke to who actually got there through all the traffic said it lacked this year...again, with everyone sitting on the hill, rather than dancing etc...maybe the music selection...again? Maybe we ought to try Bassquake II? Also someone apparently set fire to a tree...stupid thing to do as the King's Park Council don't like us there anyhow...so next year may be doubtful!

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== The Crystal Method : [Mon 26/1/98] ==-


Crystal Method - live(USA) with DJ's :- Dan The Man, Echoic, Saxon, Mallinder, Gear, Sherbert.
Well we got there after the endless post-Skyshow traffic chaos...$30 at the door on a Monday night, the night before work wasn't for us, so we stood outside for quite a while. People I saw said the heat in there was ridiculous. Anyone???

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Judge Jules : [Wed 28/1/98] ==-


DJ's :- Judge Jules (UK), Dirty Den, Big Mac, Lilly, Steve Mason.
One of the UK's biggest house names makes it to Perth...shame it was on a weeknight.
Didn't make this one...scammed a free ticket too! How did it go???

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Choice II : [Fri 30/1/98] ==-


DJ's :- Danny Rampling and DJ Heaven(UK), Puff, Mr.Whippy, Dave Jackson, Miggy.
DJ Heaven returned for Kev, oops I mean to play for Perth again...not only had she dressed up, she did a wicked job, playing solid uplifting House and even some Trance - the big surprise being some '91 Joey Beltram tracks. The drink prices and selection as well as the (non-existent?) air-conditioning in 418 leave a lot to be desired though.
Location :- 418 Nightclub Murray St Perth 10pm till late, 18+ only.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Voyeur 1st Birthday : [04/02/98] ==-


DJ's :- Dirty Den, Steve Mason and Space Ace
If you were lucky enough to get an invite...free drinks and food were the order of the day. No sign of Space Ace, but DC's had gone to a fair bit of trouble for tonight...games etc. A good laugh.

--==*==--

-== Rewind '88 - '92 : [07/02/98] ==-


DJ Darren Briais takes us down memory lane once more at Krush Nightclub. Shame...I missed it as I only saw the flyer too late in the day....anyone go???

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Outdoor Festival - Sonik 98 : [13/02/98] ==-


Ok the biggest all-ages outdoor Dance Festival event hit Perth with five arenas. Well after all the Slipmatt mess thanks to Raggabone...everything else should have gone smoothly. Unfortunately no-one counted on the W.A. Police Force being so heavy-handed and present in such numbers. For an event which was council-sanctioned, the cops behaved as if it was all so illegal. People were searched at the doors (at the request of the council) and once a couple of people got busted it got worse. Girls were searched illegally by male cops and then when a couple complained, the cops used a lady from the Hot Dog stand instead...also illegal! A few people had dust masks and Medic taken from them inside the tents as well...one guy I know with asthsma has to wear one when near a smoke machine and had to argue with the cops to keep it. One thing to note - the liaison officer from the Police who had been in contact with the promoters leading up to the event was NOT present on the night and the promoters had to deal with a command section unfamiliar with raves or how they work...(they probably thought they were at Bindoon or something) and completely panicked about the drug situation when some idiot did a acid deal right in front of them...so whoever you are mate thanks for ruining it for everyone!! I had strong words with the cop in charge about why EXACTLY it had to shut and his response in the end was to threaten to have me arrested...prat. Aside from that rubbish the setup and effort that had gone in to it was excellent. Each tent was decked out with lights, sound system, smoke machines and staging. Other than BBE's pathetic approach to playing "live" everyone played decent sets...hopefully next time the cops will leave us to it. Aptly named "Black Friday"?? Just heard one guy got busted by the cops, caught a taxi back and resumed raving...dedication indeed...good to see people got one over the cops!! Personally, I spent a lot of the night wandering around, either bumping into people and chatting or just checking out the huge arena. I think like a lot of people, if I had known it was gonna shut at 3am...I would have spent a lot longer inside the tents!
  • Techno Tent "MERCURY" (by Nexus) :-
    Speedy J(Live), B.B.E("Live"), Mr.Whippy, Puff, Troy, NU23, Jase from Outta Space and CSU(live).
    Quite a bit of minimalistic Techno/Trance and Ambience pumped out here...BBE's shambles was pathetic - they forgot to ask for a DAT machine and then tried using a tapedeck which stuffed up...VERY professional (not)! Speedy J's set I caught a bit of and it sounded good, the tent really packing out then. This was the third biggest tent on the night.
  • Big Beats Tent "NEPTUNE" (by Fat Fluid & Cyan) :-
    Dan The Man, Echoic, BJam, Saxon/Mallinder, Royce, Locksteady.
    Every time I cut through this tent, it seemed they were playing Public Enemy or something sampling them! It was pretty badly-supported all night long...only about 20 or so being in there at one time.
  • House Tent "VENUS"( by Delirium & Spiral) :-
    Jeremy Healy - his was the only set I heard in this arena and it was very good...nice bit of scratching and different tunes of various styles.
  • Hardcore Tent "EROS" (by Vermin Crew & Teknology Corps) :-
    Leroy, D'Sire and Dutchy built it nicely for Kevin, who got the wandering crowd finally dancing, Rob Fender also kicked it in and when Hixxy came on at 11pm the crowd was up for it bigtime - he played quite a selection of newish to tunes 12 months and older, but it went down really well. Greg Packer's set went down well apparently...I was doing the wander then, and at 1:30am Scott Brown hit tha decks for an hour and a half of madness. During his set the police announced they were to shut the event at 3am (they were originally going to shut at 2am!) - so the last half an hour was some of the most intense raving I've seen for a while...respect to you Perth!
  • Chillout Tent "NEPTUNE" (by Eyestorm Video) :-
    Paul Ventouras mixed the visuals and Lara and Dan added the ambient tunes, I was in here about 9pm and that was it...but it looked quite good then.

Click to see a scan of the event layout plan :-
[Thumbnail]
A few photos from Sonik98 - courtesy Trish McDermott
[Thumbnail] [Thumbnail] [Thumbnail]
[Thumbnail] [Thumbnail] [Thumbnail]

--==*==--

-== Blue Peter : [18/02/98] ==-


DJ's :- Blue Peter (UK), Dirty Den, Steve Mason, Big Mac, Lilly
Well I missed this one because I was sick...this from Mark :- "The boy was unreal, Hard House, Tech House, Trance , he dished out the goods to a small, but appreciative crowd." Sounds a lot like his wicked Big Day Out set.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Loaded Dice 2 : [Sat 21/02/98] ==-


DJ's :- Greg Packer (Big Beats/Drum n Bass), Size (Strictly Jungle), Echoic (Big Beats), Mental (Jump Up), Finesse (Jungle).
Diamond D presented the second part of these Jungle-orientated nights...the last one was quite well supported given the very rushed advertising, apparently this one will did better.
Players Nightclub was treated to quite a lot of decent darkside...good to hear! More comments? We didn't make it as we had to babysit Kev who had his drink spiked!!

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Fat Fluid 11 : [Sat 28th Feb 98] ==-


DJ's :- FatFluid Crew and SoundLab (live) Players Nightclub, someone said this was pretty crowded...anyone go?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Plastik : [Fri 6th March 98] ==-


DJ's :- Richie Hawtin (US), Mr.Whippy, Puff, Troy.
Richie Hawtin returned once more to give Perth an earful of purist Techno...unfortunately not his! The daft airline losing his records somewhere in transit, so he proceeded to drop a selection of Whippy's tracks, plus play some live Roland-909/101 vibes...different. One of the pioneers of the style in the US, he has had many releases on Plus 8 records and these days usually records under the name of "Plastikman". The Jackal Nightclub upstairs was ridiculously hot...where was the air-conditioning ??? The drink prices there too were a joke. Good night though - thought Troy played a good set.
Click here for a Richie Hawtin Desktop Theme, and for more info on him, check out the Official Plus8 Records site

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Jon Of The Pleased Wimmin : [Fri 13th March 98] ==-


DJ's :- Jon of the Pleased Wimmin(UK), Dirty Den, Steve Mason, Space Ace, Stuart Edwards.
Probably the most famous drag-act DJ hits Perth...apparently played a good mix of pure and uplifting House, he didn't turn up as a female either...surprising.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Phantasy : [Sat 14th March 98] ==-


DJ's :-
10:00pm Kriece - House/Trance
11:00pm Greg Packer and JJ - back2back for a different set of Big Beat than usually heard in Gravity - the GrandMaster Flash went off!!
12.30pm Rob Fender - Trancecore/Techno
01:15am Violation live P.A.
01:45am DJ Dutchy - bangin'
02:30am Fanatik live P.A. - been 6 months since we've played live and was nice to do so again. Thanks again people for a wicked response...
03:00am Kev + Leroy - Back2back uplifting Anthems
04:00am Hutcho - Old School...someone said they were moved to tears when I dropped "Let Me Be Your Fantasy" (sniff) well what can I say? (sniff)
04:45am Mr.Whippy - Good solid Trance and Acid set from Mr.W as he's often now known.
MC's :- Preacher, Viper, Sense, Brennox and as usual whoever was sober enough to do it!
This was the send-off party for Kev and Leroy who were off to Ireland/UK late March, the free kegs once again providing for another night of mayhem for the cost of regular admission - if you got there early enough. Wicked atmosphere by the crowd all night made for a big one...god knows how most drove home...(hic!). Shout out to the Beechboro Boys for tha noise as usual...just how many pints did you guys have???!!! Not forgetting the couple who proceeded to openly have sex on the dancefloor...I thought I'd seen it all. Great night...well done Perth!

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Chain Reaction : [Sat 21st March 98] ==-


DJ's :- John Digweed(UK) and Simon Coyle(Melb), Chad D, Kriece, Dave Jackson, Puff, Mr.Whippy.
I must've accidentally killed this review...oops! Ta to Glen Stanley for bringing to my attention. This was a good night for music, had lots of good feedback about this one, especially Simon Coyle who went off, i missed his set damn. John Digweed's set i found very different and refreshing from Perth House.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Royal Flash : [27 March 98] ==-


DJ's :- Echoic, Skank, DJ Malcom, Killian Khameleon(Ireland), Adams G with Aaron Trash, DJ Kael + Brainchild Boys, MC O.
C.Red Dezine presented this event at Players Nightclub, under the Sheraton.
Bit different Indie and Big Beat event...information please people?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Kenny Ken : [Sat 28th March 98] ==-


Note :- Jungle night is on the Saturday...Hardcore/Techno night is the Friday.
DJ's :- Kenny Ken & MC Stevie Hyper D(UK), Saxon, Echoic, Q-Ball, Greg Packer, Rosko.
Hmm that unusual line-up for a jungle night again...ah well...least Greg was on the line-up, would have been nice to see Size and Mental there too. Unfortunately I didn't make it...being at a friend's engagement...shame Kenny Ken is a wicked down-to-earth guy. Someone fill me in...I heard he went pretty dark...cool.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Laundromat : [Sat April 4th 98] ==-


DJ's :- Phil Smart(Sydney), Mr.Whippy, Kriece, Captain Fantastic Soujourner and Mallinder.
Also a live PA by NU23.
Players Nightclub by the Yummy Crew, the series continued.
Missed this one unfortunately, as i was on at Gravity...anyone?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== EMAS : [Wed 8th April 98] ==-


EMAS Electronica Wednesday nights at 418 Nightclub.
DJ's :- Greg Packer, Hutcho, Bunk.
Live sets from Jase from Outta Space, Loon X-Wing + The Pheromonic Orchestra
Shame more people didn't support this night...probably the last of three. Those that were there made it worthwhile though.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== DC's Members Party : [Thur 9th April 98] ==-


DJ's :- Hutcho, Freestyle, Leroy and Menis.
Free booze 9pm till 10pm, drink specials after that till late.
Well this was a very big night, with many a punter being carried home singing! Good Friday for many would have meant an icepack and black coffee! Good crowd up until the close at 3am.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Elemental : [Fri 10 April 98] ==-


DJ's Echoic, Kriece, Muse, Shamus, Twitch, Mumbles, Hawkeye vs The Claw
Jase from Outta Space(live)
For a night of Trance, Acid, Techno and Breaks on Good Friday - hell there was NOWHERE else in Perth to go! Thank God someone put on an event...which seemed well supported. Different venue too made it a bit of an unusual event, i didn't get in as we got there too late and my lift didn't want to pay...shame looked and sounded good.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Grooverider : [Sat 11th April 98] ==-


DJ's :- Grooverider(UK), Greg Packer, QBall, BJam, Jay, Internatty, Echoic.
The living jungle/breakbeat legend returned to Perth once more...darkside I hoped and quite a bit we got! At last finally he playing here at a weekend, a very packed Gravity went off big time to a good set, mixed with Jazzy Hardstep to Bukem-type synth tracks onto hard-as-hell darkside.
Greg Packer(who was on far too early) and the other support DJ's dropped good solid sets...pity people as usual in Gravity don't hang around after the main attraction, many even leaving during the latter half of his set??? Lightweights. I thought like most the $25 on the door a bit rich though.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== International : [Sat 11 April 98] ==-


DJ's :- Laidback(Int), Dan the Man, Saxon, Mallinder and Echoic.
Legendary big beat label Bolshi records in Perth...Players Nightclub on Easter Saturday as part of their 1998 Australian tour. Headlining act is stable supremo Laidback who cracked it big late last year with his debut album "International". Support on the night provided by a live set from Soundlab.
Any info from those who went please....

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== PLASTIK : [Sat 18 April 98] ==-


DJ's :- Oliver Lieb(Ger), Mr.Whippy, Troy, Ondy and Joel Harmen.
The latest Plastik party by Delirium, this time with Players as tha venue, with legendary German trancemaster Oliver Lieb, who returned to Perth after a 2 year absence. One of the godfathers of Trance, he delivered a good set of Trance/Goa/Acid, even though starting a bit later than billed. Supported ably on the night with live sets from Jase from Outta Space and NU-23...who then had to lug their gear through the crowds and up tha stairs - my sympathy guys!! Players isn't a bad venue but once it packs up in there - phew! Good party, everyone going off in true party style!

--==*==--

{Thumbnail]
-== Dream Room II : [Sat 18th April 98] ==-


DJ's :- Son Of The Ugly One, Leon, Benway, One + Guests.
Hmm well not much info on this one...venue capacity was given as 1000+ and advertised as featuring a "sound system that will blast your eyeballs thru the back of your head and a light show that will bring them back." Well did it? Anyone got any info on this event?

--==*==--

-== Aquatic : [Fri 24th April 98] ==-


DJ's :- D'Sire, G-Netic, Hutcho
Its not every day you get a 3 hour river cruise for $10...and Perth responded well by selling out this event! DJ D'Sire kicked off a set of solid Jump Up and rolling Jungle, who then made way for G-Netic, dropping a set of Leederville Hotel-style dance. By the time i got at 10pm for my Trancecore set, most of the crowd were well and truly smashed i think...people going off to anything! Still people on there asking for R+B and rock - ha! A good night!! Big respect to Yvonne for organising the whole night.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Progressive : [Sat April 25(Anzac Day Long Weekend)] ==-


DJ's :- KC Taylor(Melb), with local residents Chad D and Mr W.
The first night of a new monthly clubnight brought to you by Spiral Promotions who previously presented Ascension, Motion, The Malibu Stacey Australian Tour as well as the House tent at the Sonik festival earlier this year. This night at The Kasbah Club, featured one of Melbourne's finest DJ's KC Taylor, who is most well known as one half of Our House, who have released on Paul Oakenfold's Perfecto label. KC regularly DJ's around Australia and from a UK tour where he played The Ministry of Sound amongst other clubs. No info other than someone went past about 5am and it was shut.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Step Back In Time [Sat 25th April 98] ==-


DJ's :- Greg Packer, Rob Fender, Hutcho, Menis, Scrappa, Splink-E, Rewind, Corruption.
Gravity was tha venue for this event which featured more of the harder, underground tunes from '91 - '94, rather than just the well-known house classics...at least from Greg (2-3am), Rob (4-5am) and myself (1-2am). Well the whistles + dustmasks were out for this one, possibly not such an older crowd as usual because of the younger line-up? Anyway a wicked atmosphere as people went off throughout the night, Rewind once again not turning up for a set! Menis played some well-known anthems till Corruption came on with a good set of classic breaks. When i got on at 1am with MC Kev, the place was going off in true style - thanks Perth! Greg Packer (after being out-darked by me!!hehe) hit tha decks for an hour of hard breaks and stompers. Scrappa, Rob Fender(playing a wicked rare breaks set) and Splink-E finished the night off really well. Class night.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Dusk Till Dawn : [Sun 26th April 98] ==-


Was notified that "The Factory" had DJ Pee Wee Ferris in tha mix supported by Kenny L, Paul Raphael, Simon Barwood and Pinto. All ages gig. Nothing to do with Technotainment Concepts really might i add...just an old associate bombing tha name. How did it go?

--==*==--

-== Trancemit : [Fri 8th May 98] ==-


Part 4 in the series found you at Krush Nightclub, featuring the music styles of Old School Trance, Nu-School Techno, Tech-Funk and Hard House, all mixed by Trancemit residents Puff and Mr Whippy. Kev and i got there about 12:30am as we took as short break from tha NetMix to attend. A good crowd was going off to quality tunes spun by the boyz. Shout to Whippy for the barcard and to Max for providing female entertainment! hehe sorry man.
For more info on gigs delirium@git.com.au

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Loaded Dice 3 : [Fri 8th + Sat 9th May] ==-


DJ's Friday :- VinylMania, Greg Packer (Old School House), Brian Gee, Zig Zag and MC Plum. Speed Garage, House and Techno the styles this night.
DJ's Saturday :- Krank, BJam, Greg Packer[4hr set], Echoic, Mental, Finesse, Dee.
Players Nightclub the venue once more for this successful series of jungle parties. How did it go?

--==*==--

-== Trance'Zen'Dance-Tibetan Benefit : [Wed May 13th 98] ==-


DJ's :- DJ Killian Chameleon(Dublin) representing "The Infinity Project" Records, London and local DJ, Sam the Tipi Man.
Something different here...La Verita 80 High Street, Fremantle. Guest speaker Tibetan monk Geshe Jampel Senge, speaking at 11pm. A psychadelic experience of East meets West. How'd it go?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Jazz + Bass Sessions Tour [Sat 16th May 98] ==-


DJ's :- DJ SS + MC Warren G(UK), Echoic, Rosko, Finesse, Size, Mental.
Nice to see what SS the man behind Formation, F-Project, 5-HQ Records etc drops this time round...but no Greg Packer AGAIN? Nice to see Size and Mental getting a well-deserved shot.
Was gonna check it out, but couldn't get my better half in so went to The Factory instead. Good night?

--==*==--

-== Sneak 4 : [Fri 15th May 98] ==-


DJ's :- Greg Packer and K'Alee
10pm Lachlan - Chicago House
11pm Simmon - Disco/House/Garage
12am Mark Veenstra - Speed Garage
1am Keith McGowan - Progressive House
2am Scrappa - Garage/Trance
Krush Nightclub preview of Perth's Up n Coming DJ's...don't really think Scrappa should have been on there then as he's been around a bit...ah well who cares long as people had a good night.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Special Event : [Sat 16th May 98] ==-


DJ's :- Groove Terminator, Greg Packer, Kenny L, Rob Fender, Hutcho, Kevin, Scrappa, Luke.
Got there about 1am after a very boozy FA Cup telecast at RedHead's (hic). Greg Packer was on when we got there dropping a good solid jungle set, followed by Kev with Happy Hardcore and then myself and Rob Fender back to back with tha Trancecore. Not a bad (young) crowd...considering very little advertising had gone on.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Rewind 88-92 : [Wed 20th May 98] ==-


DJ Darren Briais once again dusts of tha old classics at Krush Nightclub, the last time for 6 months or so as he heads off to a residency in Queensland. Thought the $10 door charge this time, compared to previously free nights a bit much.

--==*==--

-== Voyeur : [Wed 20th May 98] ==-


DJ's :- Alex Taylor(Sydney) and Dirty Den.
New Zealand's Alex Taylor returns to Perth for the third time for a night of uplifting House and Hi-Nrg. Anyone go to this one?

--==*==--

-== BigStyle : [Fri 22nd May 98] ==-


DJ's :- Greg Packer, Royce, Gully
Fresh Big Beats Style Friday night at Krush. Well a good night was had by all, very empty earlier on, by the time Greg Packer came on, it had filled up quite a bit. I really just don't know how Kev and I got home (autopilot on the Commodore i think??? ooer...) - Mental, Size, some other guyz (seriously just too blind to remember) + Kev and I literally emptied the bar of Crown Lager...(courtesy Greg's barcard hehe). The first time we've filled a table with empty Crown Lagers!.....

--==*==--

[ HomeGrown ]
-== HomeGrown : [30th May 98] ==-


DJ's :- Greg Packer, Rob Fender, Finesse, Hutcho, Freestyle, Dutchy, D'Sire, Rewind, Menis, Sniper, Zippy.
MC's :- Mallard, Sense + others.
Gravity Nightclub was once again the venue...as of late the only hardcore venue to attend! A good (if non-regular) crowd went off most of the night alternating between Jungle and the Happy Hardcore/Trancecore sounds...good to see a few people trying both styles of music on the dancefloor! From the time i got there (about 11:20pm) - i didn't hear any bad sets from everybody...in fact a good night to be taped...which it wasn't unfortunately. Rewind was absent again...so Freestyle and i went back2back for his set...and it was nice to play so late (till 6:10am) ta people! Note this crew V.C.P is a spin-off, NOT the Vermin Crew.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Ultimatum Australian Tour : [Fri 5th June 1998] ==-


DJ's :- Trevor Rockliffe(UK), Puff and Mr.Whippy.
Carl Cox's legendary house and Techno label Ultimatum began its Australian Tour in Perth upstairs at The Jackal Nightclub. The Ultimatum label has featured releases from Carl Cox, Josh Wink, Trevor Rockliffe, Shades of Rhythm and Australia's own Josh Abrahams.
Featured as part of the tour was UK house and Techno DJ, Trevor Rockliffe. We got to the Jackal just in time to hear Puff's set, which as usual was wicked and one of the harder of the night - cheers man! Rockliffe is one of the UK's finest 3-deck mixers and has built a strong reputation having been resident at legendary London clubnights 'Trade' and 'Garage. He didn't disappoint the crowd, playing a good selection of Techno/house tracks and seamlessly mixed as usual. Shame more people didn't make the effort to go.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Step Up 3 [Fri 12th June 98] ==-


DJ's :- Son Of Sam(Adelaide), B-Jam, Finesse, Mental, Greg Packer, Diamond D, Krank
Didn't catch this...the World Cup beckoned...few people said it was ok and that Son of Sam played some "...weird Adelaide type Jungle....hmm"

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Udder Nonsense [Fri 12th June 98] ==-


DJ's :- K'Alee, Bilsby, Giom Pierre and Gully.
A regular night at Krush Nightclub? Billed as a mad-capped night of Musical Mayhem.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Drum + Bass [Sat 13th June 98] ==-


DJ's :- Statik, Shuey, Tob-E-1
Night at the Greenwich Bar...anyone got a review?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Tweekin' vs Yummy [Sat 13th June 98] ==-


DJ's :- DJ Graeme(US), Sugar Ray(Sydney), Kriece, Rudy.
East meets West, US meets Oz, in the battle to end all battles DJ verses DJ, mixing it up to the death. Should've be a cool night, these guyz do a good job of promotion and this one would've been no exception, I'm sure. Review anyone?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== [BigBeat] Sneak 5 [Fri 19th June 98] ==-


DJ's :- Mumbles, Flash, Berna, Fish, Andrew Vranjes, with support from Echoic and Gully.
With MC's Rikki and Fish.
A Preview of Perth's Up n Coming DJ's @ Krush Nightclub. Well anyone?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== StateSide [Sat 20th June 98] ==-


DJ's :- Derrick Carter + Chez Damier(Chicago USA), Nick Law + Jon Hardy(Sydney), Dan The Man, Dave Jackson, Martin L.
Two of the legends of US House, together with two of Sydney's US House pioneers, together with three local lads made for quite a night for House fans.
Players Nightclub looked pretty crowded when i drove past, unfortunately not able to attend.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== PerthQuake [Sat 27th June 98] ==-


DJ's :- D'Sire(Jungle), Freestyle(Happy), Sniper(95 hardcore), Greg Packer(93 darkside), R-A-W(live PA), Splink-E(93 uplifting old school), Menis(Kniteforce Breaks) and Internatty(dark Jungle).
Well Gravity was ok Saturday...quite a good vibe, though not as good as some past events in there. Didn't see the bubble machines but the Aurora Laser was there. I was there during Sniper and Greg Packer's sets...both which went off well and ta to Greg for playing our new track at the end of his set. The "live" PA by R-A-W was different...possibly more like a megamix of happy tracks...lots of arm-waving though! I left during Splink-E's set so would like some other comments after that?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Vegas - A Night Of Fear and Loathing [Sat 27th June 98] ==-


DJ's :- Joe 90(Sydney), Echoic, Dan The Man, Chase + guests.
Also featured Soundlab(Live).
Revelation Magazine issue 22 launch party at Players Nightclub, from 9:30pm till 6am. Not much info on this one. Info anyone?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Trancemit 5 [Fri 3rd July 98] ==-


DJ's :- Puff and Mr.Whippy.
Another in the series of excellent Nexus Techno nights, well worth checking out if you haven't been before, even if you have. "...The only limit is your imagination". We got there about 1am and it was going off nicely to sets of pure Trance by the boys. Respect again.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Chasing The Dragon [Sat 4th July 98] ==-


DJ's - DJ Ramesh (ZOUK Nightclub), Troy, Dave Jackson, Rudy.
The Globe Nightclub was the venue for this event...unfortunately i was at Gravity all night.
Hope ya supported this one...different Techno event...also did you collect all the (three?) flyers, as there was more than one style!

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Storm [Sat 4th July 98] ==-


DJ's :- Echoic, Vinylmania, Brian Gee, Zig Zag, Greg Packer and Krank.
As i said i was at Gravity...been a while since Vinylmania's spun. Diamond-D was the promoter again - busy guyz! Also due to stupid political crap, the venue had to be moved from Northbridge to the Stirling St Hellenic Centre...and eventually the party was canned on the night. Big 'dis out to the political crew who view money over music.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Independence Day [Sat 4th July 98] ==-


DJ's - DJ Sgt Slick(Melbourne), DJ Wrightious, Dan The Man, Paul Malone.
The creator of "White Treble+Black Bass" ("white people turn up the treble, black people turn up tha bass") disco/garage track as heard on JJJ..."Australia's premier dance music producer"? Hmm i reserve opinion on that...unless ya like Garage and i for one do not...ah whatever. Brought to you by Vicious Vinyl and MDS.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Special Event [Sat 11th July 98] ==-


DJ's :- Greg Packer - exclusive 6hr set with support from DJ Size.
Diamond D presented this good idea and a rare opportunity to hear a single DJ's version of the history of the dance scene.
10 - 12am DJ Size - Smooth Drum and Bass classics
12 - 1am Old Skool Hip Hop and Breakbeats
1 - 2am Big Beat "Strictly Up Front"
2 - 3am 92 Breakbeat vs 93 Darkside
3 - 4:30am Jungle (Up front and anthems)
4:30am - 6am Old Skool Rave Anthems (Reunion Style)
Mad night...best night at Players yet i reckon. Good to see so many old faces and respect to Greg for tha tunes! Kev once again managed to bumrush the mic with Preacher - class!

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Covurt Volume 1 - Invurt Netmix [Fri 17th July 98] ==-


DJ's :- MikeKola, Karnage, Rob Fender, Kev, Hutcho, Blackout and Havoc.
People have been complaining to me about how crap Friday nights in Perth have been for ages. So here was a chance to experience something really different - a club night also on the net. A reasonable show of people made the first night a success - considering the rain and Madhatters the next night. The broadcast on the net had people from the USA, Eastern States and Europe tuning in. RealAudio NetMix HomePage :- http://digitalheights.iinet.net.au/invurt.htm

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== The Fifth Madhatters Ball [Sat 18th July 98] ==-


DJ's :- (back2back in Gravity) Echoic + Saxon, Greg Packer + Size, Hutcho + Rob Fender, Menis + Kev, Q-Ball + Rosko, Freestyle + Corruption.
(In DC's) :- Lilly, Big Mac, Space Ace, Cody, G-Styles, Steve Mason, Dirty Den.
This annual event is always good for a laugh - not only for seeing some of the costumes people go to the trouble to turn up in, but also treasure when we saw a (smashed) MC Mallard aka Count Dracula next to me in the toilet, he'd passed out & fallen in the flooded urinal, spewed everywhere...coming to as a few of us has a pee! He staggered out (putting in his wet teeth ugh) and headed straight for a nice bird near the pooltable machine, smoothed off the fettuccini all down him to look buff & asked some corny line & then fell over. Later saw him passed out against the wall a few times muttering to himself, before he fell on the floor heaps - he was on the Mic later however what a trooper! Ah well happens to the best of us...maybe. Anyhow a good night, i got there at the start of Greg and Size's set...which as usual was laced with wicked dark and moody Jungle. Rob and i followed with a set of '92-'93 breaks which with the help of Kev on tha mic to hyoe the crowd (using headphones instead cos there was no mic!) seemed to go off nicely. Kev and Menis followed which lifted the crowd up further with a good mix of bangin Techno and Hardcore. However, from here the night atmosphere lost it, the Jungle of Q-Ball + Rosko droned on the crowd, and the atmosphere still hadn't returned as i left at the end of their set...shame. Others comments to me were that Freestyle + Corruption brought it back nicely, but it was a pity to see a good atmosphere gone.

--==*==--

[thumbnail]
-== Smokin [Sat 18th July 98] ==-


DJ's :- Adam Freeland(UK), Mallinder, Dan The Man, Saxon, Echoic.
Soundlab (live).
Players Nightclub was again the venue...being used a bit innit? Anyway i was told by a few people that it was rocking down here and Adam Freeland although not the most exciting DJ in the world played a good set of Big Beat and Trip Hop which the crowd reacted to very well. Comments on the other sets?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Sukatash [Wed 22nd July 98] ==-


DJ's :- Dave Jackson, Dan The Man, Scank, Bilsby, Royce + t.p.c Breakers.
A night of Hip Hop + Funk.
" Sukatash - more funk than a shaolin monk.... "
How'd this go?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Whoomp [Fri 24th July 98] ==-


DJ's :- Kev, Hutcho, Impakt, Isis.
A FREE 18+ event upstairs at the Jackal - nice flyer i reckon...reminds me of the Stingin The Tail series! Not really much to say other than this was a rare opportunity to get into a club for nothing and enjoy some drink specials, plus hear some different tunes. Thanks to Johnny5 for hosting this one - Happy Birthday man!

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== MESH [Sat 25th July 98] ==-


DJ's :- DJ Mesh(Switzerland), Greg Packer, Krank, Size, Mental, Diamond D, Finesse, Echoic, BJam.
"Europe's finest Drum n Bass Producer/DJ premiering a selection of his labels dubplates."
A Jungle + Drum n Bass special event at Player's Nightclub, with a VERY enhanced sound system for the night, plus lasers. Greg Packer and Mental's sets being the one people talked about to me...they didn't seem to like Mesh much...although it wouldn't be the first time an international didn't get the best set in.
Tickets : $18+bf from Central Station, Dadas, Mills + Egotrip.
Over 18+ event.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Covurt Operation #2 - Invurt Netmix [Fri 31st July 98] ==-


DJ's :- MikeKola, Karnage, Rob Fender, Kev, Blackout and Dutchy.
This special night at last got a bit more of the support it needed...perhaps because of the extra flyers and X-Press ad. Anyhow...good sets from all as usual - i was absent due to a booze-up earlier in the night! Ah well...maybe next time! hehe

--==*==--

-== Lauren & Davin's Hassle-Free Party [Sat 1st August 98] ==-


DJ's :- Kev, Hutcho, Rob Fender, Myke B, Bobbie D.
Small-scale Free and very underground event at a location for those in tha know - which turned out to be the Perth Pony Club in Osbourne Park. Apologies to all who emailed me after i left work - and i didn't get back to with the address! Lots of people found it hard to find apparently...shame it was cool. Quite a good setup and a cool no-expense-spared attitude. All ages as well. Perhaps another soon.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Nexus Record Label Launch [Sat 1st August 98] ==-


DJ's :- Will-E-Tell(Melb), Mr.Whippy, Puff
With live sets from Jase from Outta Space, NU23.
Players Nightclub the venue again for the launch of the Debut release on the Nexus label of "Wet Trax vol 1" by Will-E-Tell...anyone interested in releasing material should contact Nexus via : PO Box 1492 Subiaco WA 6904.
Shame the four events were all in one night - damn!! Did it go alright?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Under The Influence [Sat 1st August 98] ==-


DJ's :- DJ Influence(UK), Internatty, Brian Gee, Greg Packer, Zig Zag, Splink-E, Corruption
Different venue, being the Regal Theatre, in Subiaco. From what i was told, the place was pretty rammed and the music going off well during the night...this comment from Tim H :- "The vibe was pretty damn good and the venue was a nice change. I had trouble re-entering the venue when i ventured outside to meet a friend. The queue was huge and there was no separate line for re-admission. I missed 50 minutes of Packer's one hour set. Frustrating, but i didn't let it ruin my night. Influence was as good as people had told me was and Zig Zag and corruption rounded the night off well. Good to see some old familiar faces." - cheers man, respect.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Zero@Gravity [Fri 7th August 98] ==-


DJ's :- Choice, Jayd, Ondy, Rudy and Christian.
Featured the music styles of Techno, Trance & Acid, mixed with favourite old school anthems.
Since the New Year's Eve launch at Sub-Harmonic Love, every Awarehouse party has been a unique event with a hassle-free, anything goes vibe. How did this go anyone?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Dr.S Gachet [Sat 8th August 98] ==-


DJ's :- Diamond D, Greg Packer, Adrian Sardi, Jay, Andrew Vranjes, Echoic.
The Notorious Big Bud presented the man behind Audio Maze. Apparently Gravity was going off for this one...really sad i missed this...was away for the weekend. Greg and Kev told me he played nice n dark, which is what i love to hear...damn!

--==*==--

-== Bass Jumping [Thur 13th August 98] ==-


DJ's :- Echoic, Tepid, Shuey.
Drum n Bass night at the Red Sea Nightclub, Subiaco.
Anyone go?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Covurt Operation #3 - Invurt Netmix [Fri 14th August 98] ==-


DJ's :- MikeKola, Greg Packer, Hutcho, Rob Fender, Dutchy, Kev, Karnage, Blackout.
At last people have started attending this event...which is good to see. A good crowd getting in to listen to Greg Packer playing Trip Hop then dark jungle...a good set. Next up was Karnage who continued the Jungle vibe with another nice dark mix. MikeKola then broke up it briefly with a short Hip Hop set and i dropped a set of Acid/TranceCore. Rob Fender was followed by Kev and they both played good sets of Happy Hardcore/bangin tunes which went down well. (The immaculate as ever) Dutchy graced us with his presence next picking up the pace with the new slower sound of Euro-stompers. Blackout wrapped up a wicked night with very fast-paced Gabba and TranceCore...big respect to all who attended! The next Netmix will be announced soon.
RealAudio NetMix HomePage :- http://digitalheights.iinet.net.au/invurt.htm

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Step Back In Time II [Sat 15th August 98] ==-


DJ's :- Greg Packer(4-5am), Hutcho, Rob Fender(10-11pm), Splink-E(9-10pm), Echoic, B-Jam, Scrappa, with special appearance by UK Jungle legend Dr.S.Gachet playing 2-4am.
"A night dedicated to all the past hardcore classics. Dusting the cobwebs off their records for one more time.". A very good night....everyone playing good sets of old classic tunes...and this time not so many well-worn, but a more underground sound to the night. Must say it was nice to see Gachet as i had missed him the week before...really nice guy too. However, I don't really agree with Gachet being forced to play a Jungle set as he wasn't told he was supposed to bring old school as well, which kinda spoiled the old school point of the evening....other than that a good night had by all.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Progressive [Sat 15th August 98] ==-


DJ's :- Mark James, Mr.Whippy, Chad W.
"Mark James has been a DJ for a little over 13 years, as a producer, he was part of 'Bass Culture' with Gina G and Pee Wee Ferris and hit the charts with the single 'Love The Life'...but perhaps best known by the dance crowd for the classic 'Eternal' he made with Carl Cox in 1992. This was his first visit in three years to Perth at Players nightclub. This revue from depiazz :- "The night was a success with about 500 people turning up. Playing before Mark was Chad.D with a good set starting off with deep house, building into smooth trance and big breakdowns, Mark James came on at 1:30 with a set of Trancey hard house, with some superb mixing and scratching, which the crowd loved. After Mark was Mr.W with a set of funky Tech house which kept the crowd going to the early hours." - Thanks man!

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Twisted : [Sat 22nd August 98] ==-


All Ages Arena DJ's :- Mental, Freestyle, Dutchy, Hutcho, DJ M-Zone[UK], Greg Packer, Kev, DJ Angus[Bris].
Over 18's Arena DJ's :- Splink-E, Kev, DJ M-Zone[UK], Mark NRG[Germany], DJ Angus[Bris], Hutcho vs Greg Packer, Corruption.
MC's :- Kev, Preacher, Sense & Interjecta
Well crikey what a night...and what a class event for a first party by Choice Promotions. The place went off all night...shame the council got us to shut at 6am. Other than the bouncers taking too long to get people inside...everything went smoothly...except for Rob Fender who unfortunately missed out on his set in the main arena.
UK DJ M-Zone banged out two wicked sets of Acid+Trancecore plus Angus (who nearly missed his set!) from Brisbane bangin out a rare old school 92-93 set, with further special guest - German Trance Master - DJ Mark NRG, providing some wicked European hard Trance sounds upstairs. I don't know about everyone else, but i got sore legs going between 2 arenas all night long, but it was wicked to have such a range of music. The Gilkisons Dance Studios was the venue for what many people described to me as the (hardcore at least) party of the year. Big respect out to you Perth for supporting it so well and creating such a wicked atmosphere...especially that last 30 minutes in the main arena! Number II later in the year!

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== United States Of America - Stateside v2.0 [Sat 22nd August 98] ==-


DJ's :- Mark Farina(San Francisco), Nick Law+Jon Hardy(Sydney), Dan The Man, Dave Jackson, Martin L.
Delirium, Spiral Promotions and Red Ant presented this night of Deep Vocal US House, Jazzy grooves and funky Hard House.
The venue was International Players Lounge once more. How did this one go?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Infinity [Fri 28th August 98] ==-


DJ's :- Kriece, Ondy, Emmanuel, Jayd, Mikey B, Hawkeye vs The Claw.
"Prepare to smash through the space time continuum into infinity as EMAS presents a night of Acid, Trance, House and Techno that pushes the boundaries to the outer limits of electronica."
Attractions include : fully separate Chill out with Ambient DJ's, Turbosound Sound System, live video mixing, friendly security and laser.
Venue was Cnr Stirling St and Bulwer St Highgate, this went off last time...anyone??

--==*==--

-== Deep Drum II [Sat 29th August 98] ==-


DJ's :- Shuey, Adrian Sardi, Shep.
Break and Enter Productions presented this second excursion into D+B.
Venue was the Greenwich Back Bar, under His Majesty's theatre - apparently went well.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Plastik [Fri 4th September 98] ==-


DJ's :- Adam Beyer, Cari Lekebush, Christian Smith, Mr.Whippy, Puff, Troy.
Delirium and Nexus presented another event in this continuing series. This time featuring legendary European Techno DJ's Adam Beyer(Drumcode + Code Red Records)/Cari Lekebusch(from Hybrid and Harthouse Records) and Christian Smith(Tronic Records).
Players wasn't too crowded when we got there...about midnight, Puff i believe playing some nice hard Trance then. But around 1am, the place was pretty packed, the music nice and once again the only complaint the beer price. Still another good event.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Loaded Dice IV : [Sat 5th Sept 98] ==-


DJ's :- Rhino, Krank, Rosko, Size, Echoic vs Packer, Diamond D, B-Jam.
MC's :- Sense, Capone
Another in the series of these cool Diamond D - Jungle, Big Beat and Drum and Bass nights.
Apparently Players went off well from what i heard...damn missed it!

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Progress : [Fri 11th Sept 98] ==-


DJ's (In DC's) :- Chris + James(UK), with Big Mac, Lilly, Dirty Den and Steve Mason.
Hot To Trot UK - Down Under Tour. Being voted number 1 club by DJ Magazine, brought Perth a taste of UK club culture for one night only.
DJ's (In Gravity) :- Bryan Gee + MC Moose(UK), BJam, Echoic, Rosko, Greg Packer, QBall and Jay.
One of the UK's best known jungle players, Bryan Gee(owner of V + Philly Blunt Recordings) came on after a nice dark set from Greg Packer. I dunno maybe i was expecting more...don't get me wrong, the mixing was excellent and Moose ripped up tha mic, but his set just lacked punch...not anything near Gachet's recent visit. Anyhow...they really were a nice couple of guyz...very down to earth and friendly. The usual crowd-dropoff happened during his set though...i never understand people who pay to get in and then leave early.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Alliance [Sat 12th Sept 98] ==-


DJ's :- Included Jayd, Christian, Glen, Toby and guests
Another in the series of the legendary free Pines Forest all-ages events.
Well much respect to Jayd and the lads for putting this on...two things were against them this night though...rain and rumour. I was planning to go after playing @ Gravity but was told by quite a few people that the cops had shut it down. About 3:30am we found out it was in fact still on and someone had only seen the cops drive in as they were leaving...[sigh]...maybe next time.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Liquid(Pica-Boo3) [Sat 12th Sept 98] ==-


Liquid Room DJ's :- Mallinder, Saxon, Paul Gamblin, Dave Jackson, Echoic + BJam.
Floating Room Live acts :- Substance, Round, Nectarm Sneaky Foxx, Bluetile Lounge, Brian De Cress + Crew.
Fluid Room :- Dan the Man, Royce, Bilsby, Kid Napps, MC Shank + Mishap.
Not much info was given at all on this event, including a price...did anyone go?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Progressive : [Sat 12th Sept 98] ==-


DJ's :- Frontside(Melbourne)- Live, Chad D, Mr Whippy.
This visit to Perth was the launch of their self titled debut album...their past recordings being played on JJJ and by Carl Cox, Andy Morris and Fat Boy Slim. This event featuring a 90min live set.
How did it go...so many events on this night again.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Rebirth [Sat 12th Sept 98] ==-


DJ's :- unknown...no info given
From what i can remember someone's birthday and they were throwing a party...
Venue :- 176 James St Northbridge
I walked past on my way to Gravity and heard music, but didn't have time to stop...anyone?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Arrythmia [Sat 19th September 98] ==-


Front Room :- DJ Aphrodite(UK), Andrew Vranjes, Echoic, Shep, Shuey, plus a live set from Jase from Outta Space.
Back Room :- Adrian Sardi, Billy B and Waz, Mumbles, Justin.
Another EMAS event. There was some doubt about Greenwich Bar being used for this gig due to reports of flooding during the week...but on it went. I really wanted to get down there...but got caught elsewhere as usual. I've been told the music was nice and dark although the locals being preferred over Aphrodite (who was really cool and threw some of his vinyl to the punters and signed shirts, passports, vinyl, flyers etc)...who i must say was an unusual choice of billing for EMAS - but respect to them for putting it on...No-one gets paid for these events, it all goes to the next night.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Slipmatt : [Sat 19th Sept 98] ==-


DJ's :- Sniper, Subsonic, Splink-E, Menis, Corruption, Freestyle.
This is one night, like the Carl Cox, when everyone comes out...good to see lotsa old faces! Splink-E was on when we finally arrived...nice set too. Menis next with a stompy set to warm up the man. Then the UK's best known Happy Hardcore DJ returned once again...and it was to hear him play an old school set first - which i would've far preferred to have been underground tunes, not really the most well known trax that every bunny DJ picks up on compilation albums these days...eg Far Out/Charlie etc...but still. Then surprisingly he dropped breaks from '93-'95 + there was some good old tunes in there i haven't heard for a long time. Corruption followed, also with a nice set of breaks, but he suffered the old Gravity thing of the place emptying a bit after the international. By the time Freestyle came on, it picked up a bit again and nice trax too. Personally...i find Slipmatt's Happy sets much of a muchness...so good to hear him play something different this time. I had a good time catching up with lots of old, old mates who seem to only come out at Slipmatt and Carl Cox events - pikers.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Yummy : [Sat 19th Sept 98] ==-


DJ's :- Ken Cloud + Simon Caldwell(Sydney), Mr.Whippy + Kriece
Ken Cloud is co-resident at Tweekin@77 with Sugar Ray and Phil Smart and has played all over Australia. Simon Caldwell is resident at the All Funked Up + Deep End nights...he has played alongside many internationals, as well as in Germany and Barcelona.
Players Nightclub was the venue once more...i tried to get down there...but (sigh) no go. Anyone?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Critical [Fri 25th September 98] ==-


DJ's :- Greg Packer + Hutcho(back2back), Choice, Daemon, Jayd, Krisp.
Special event upstairs at Redhead's. This was something different and with a non-regular lineup of Trance, Jungle, Happy Hardcore etc should've been supported better...at least they tried.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Submerge [Sat 26th Sept 98] ==-


DJ's :- Echoic, Size, Internatty, Freestyle, Rob Fender(2-3am), Mental, Hutcho(4-5am), Scrappa.
A night of varied musical styles - Big Beat, Drum+Bass, Old School and Happy Hardcore, with a non-regular Saturday lineup.
The only things different in Gravity this night were the laser and a few ceiling decorations really...which was something complained about paying extra for. Town was really packed but the people didn't turn up in the club till after 1am, after which time it went off nicely.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== DJ Magazine Australian Tour [Sun 27th Sept 98] ==-


DJ's :- Luke Slater(UK), Andy Morris(UK) and Chris Coco(UK)
Queens Birthday Long Weekend traditional event at The Globe Nightclub, 18+ event.
The DJ Magazine Australian Tour featured a combined presentation from Perth clubnights Plastik and Progressive featuring two rooms - a Techno room featuring legendary UK Techno DJ Luke Slater plus Plastik residents Mr.W, Puff and Troy plus Jase from Outta Space Live and a House room featuring UK house DJ's Andy Morris and Chris Coco and local DJ's Chad D, Dave Jackson, Kreice and Flex. I expect this would've been a big party. I'd loved to have heard Luke Slater...got caught at Prophecy though...anyone?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Prophecy [Sun Sept 27th 98] ==-


DJ's :- Greg Packer, Echoic, Rhino, Internatty, Mental, Freestyle, Jayd, Kev.
With an exclusive live PA by Fanatik.
MC's :- Kapone, Chronic, Sinister, Interjecta, Preacher
Energy House Promotions presented this night...bit unusual...which was reflected in a different crowd which was cool. Personally for us, this was one of the most attentive parties (re setup and attention to our needs) we've played at (Fanatik)...so respect to the crew. All ages event too and invariably it was a younger crowd as i guess lots of the older ravers went to the DJ Mag party. Good bassy sound system though and another varied setup in the Embassy Ballroom, plus good tunes made for a good night overall. Nice to see people staying later at events once again.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Flipper [Sun 27th Sept 98] ==-


DJ's :- Greg Packer, JJ, Rewind, Adam12, Gully, Waz, Billy B, FBI.
Submission productions presented a night of Drum and Bass and Big Beat at the Mercury Room, was the venue for this 18+ event....anyone?

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Ray Keith [Fri 2nd Oct 98] ==-


DJ's :- Ray Keith(UK), QBall, Jay, Rosko, Echoic, Influence
One for the fans of Darkside Jungle...Ray Keith is a legend in the scene. He runs Dread and Penny Black Recordings and has many wicked releases to his name from Doc Scott's old Absolute2 label to numerous remixes for a multitude of labels and artists. Well he never made it...and i think his absence showed in the crowd...apparently his plane catching fire and so John B from Formation Records fame came instead to Gravity. A different mix of grindy darkside and hardbeats mixed with jazzy sounds...and the wildest haircut I've seen on a DJ i think. Also Ray Keith's name on the flyer + everywhere else was spelt incorrectly.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== GrooveZone [Sat 3rd Oct 98] ==-


DJ's :- DJ Biz-E(Syd), Echoic, Puff, Menis.
"The latest in DJ and Dance Music products in action." - DJ and Dance Music product release night...about time something like this came round, anyone into making their own Techno should've attended this night just out of interest. My only criticism was that the demo was mainly aimed at House/Club music...some more Hardcore/Techno would've been cool...to really show what those machines can do especially the MC505.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Alchemy [Wed 30th Sept 98] ==-


DJ's :- Jayd, Ondy, Choice, Muse
"This night marks the beginning of the end of Winter...celebrate the rites of Spring with sonic alchemists bringing you a prefect balance of soaring spiritual Trance and hard underground beats."
Awarehouse were the promoters again and Gravity Nightclub the location for this special night. Considering Wednesday nights lately this was supported well, with a good crowd in there early. I think the change of venue from 418's was a good move by the guyz. Nice Trance/Acid sets from the DJ's too...well done...hopefully more of these...check it out.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== The Producer [Sat 10th Sept 98] ==-


DJ's :- The Producer(UK) + MC Ribbs(UK), Rob Fender(1-2am), Hutcho(4-5am), Kevin(12-1am), Dutchy(5-6am), Corruption(10-11)
The Producer has released tracks on UK labels Edge and Semtex and is a huge DJ in his own right in Europe and Scotland...playing a mix of hard Gabba/Techno + Trancecore.
One for the true-to-the-scene crew(or the non-lightweights)...Gravity wasn't too crowded this night which was a shame...lots of people missing out on a hard set to rival last year's Lenny Dee. I have to say it always makes me laugh when you see an obvious bunch of DC's regulars trying desperately to keep up for more than two minutes with any tracks faster than 180bpm. Kev, Rob Fender + Havoc went back2back for two hours with a good set of Trancecore and Techno for the warmup. Producer hit us with a mix of medium-paced dark German and absolutely sick UK Gabba mercilessly pounded the crowd for two hours...all backed up by the mic talent of MC Ribbs. After much debate with myself as to what to follow with...i ended up dropping a set of Trancecore/Acid which seemed to go down well with the tired legs of the crowd who had been going for it hard. Dutchy closed the night with a different set of slow stompy Happy and Trance tunes.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Ministry of Sound Australian Tour [Sat 17th Oct 98] ==-


DJ's :- MOS Resident DJ's Paul Jackson, Phil Asher, Detroit legend Carl Craig plus also Australian's Jayse Knipe and Nick Law and locals Puff, Mr.W, Dave Jackson, Dan the Man, Rudy, Kreice and Chad D plus
Live sets from :- Paperclip People(Carl Craig), + Perth act NU-23.
ROOM 1
ROOM 2
Deep House/Garage/Funky BeatsHardhouse/Party House/Techno
9-10.30 Rudy9-10.15 Chad d
10.30-11.50 Dan the Man10.15-11.30 Kreice
11.50-1.50 Carl Craig(DJ Set)11.30-12.45 Puff
1.50-3.50 Nick Law(Sydney)12.45-1.45 Nu-23(live)
3.50-4.40 Paperclip People1.45-4.15 Paul Jackson(UK)
4.40-6.40 Phil Asher(UK)4.15-6.45 Jayse Knipe(Melbourne)
6.40-8 Dave Jackson6.45-8 Mr.W

Set out over two huge rooms with downstairs dedicated to the harder house sounds as experienced at MOS on Fridays and upstairs to the deeper sounds as experienced at MOS on Saturdays. Last year's sellout was very much the same again...a crushing crowd making it a hassle to move between floors and the old problem of every time you'd go to dance you'd get bumped by someone coming through the crowd. Once again the water sold out and was (somehow) replaced...the final door figure being over 2000+. Thank god this wasn't on a summer night is all i can say! Good music downstairs and a better crowd, compared with the minimalistic style and predominantly-poser crowd upstairs. Its no secret I'm no major House fan...but a good night, good sound and lighting made it worthwhile for me.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Telethon98 FundRaizer [Sun 18th Oct 98] ==-


DJ's :- Welly(UK), Greg Packer, Puff, Dave Jackson, Whippy, Troy, Rob Fender, Hutcho, Havoc, Kaneda, Amy, Fusion, JJ, Rudy, Junior + guests.
Oh my god what a state we were in when we turned up...literally an hour's sleep on the floor of a mate's gaff, then back out (groan). After arguing for cartons of cold lager from the owners we started to wake up and soon had the place havin it nicely - today even featuring live Channel 7 Telethon coverage...of us all VERY messy on stage...poor Kev was mixing at the time the cameras were on - this event immediately followed the Ministry of Sound at 8am and continued through the day, with all proceeds raised donated to Telethon and The Princess Margaret's Children's Hospital. The Hellenic Centre in Northbridge hasn't seen a two level party for a while and this really was different. Perth's second only alldayer saw the downstairs room coming online at 11am after the church next door complained about the bass during the service. A good crowd soon built up and the place was rocking nicely. We went off to the Glory match about 2pm and when we got back at 7pm, the upstairs was still rocking, with percussionists and ravers bangin away at it till 9:30pm+. Good on you Perth!

--==*==--

-== Science : [Sat 17th Dec 98] ==-


DJ's :- Selekt, Scank, Bilsby and Kidnap.
"Interior, Exterior Beats" - Not much info on this one....Greenwich Bar, with free entry to Players...anyone?

--==*==--

-== A S C E N S I O N : [Fri 23rd Oct 98] ==-


DJ's :- Micah, Twitch, Kriece, Muse and Dr Claw.
"An upward spiral into the realms of Trance with a divine and diverse selection of local DJs"
Venue was Players Nightclub.
Tickets :- Tickets $8 at the door, 18+ event.

--==*==--

-== Bassmen : [Sat 24th Oct 98] ==-


DJ's :- Clay(10-11), Mental(11-12), Diamond D vs Krank(12-2), Echoic vs BJam(2-4), Andrew Vranjes(4-5), Rosko(5-6).
Plus MC Capone.
"This night turns to a unique 2hr set of Drum+Bass from two of Perth's well respected DJ's in the Jungle scene".
Another by the successful promotions team of Diamond D at Player's Nightclub - good quality events these...spoke to a few of the DJ's and they said it was pretty cool.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Midian - Between Heaven and Hell [Sat 31st Oct 98] ==-


DJ's :- Hutcho, Kev + Havoc(back2back)(9-10:30), Corruption(10:30), Dutchy(11:15), Greg Packer + Mental(12:15), Rob Fender(1:15), dance display(2:00), Hutcho+Kev(2:15), Havoc(3:15), Splink-E(4:15).
"Come and party between Heaven and Hell at Midian".
This was a Halloween AIDS Foundation benefit gig...bit different...all the money raised going to charity apparently. The night featured a dance display...something you don't see much these days and the Aurora Vortex Laser
This could also be the last event at Gilkisons Dance Studio...see Hot News page.
Most people complained about the $25 ticket price, but those that went raved with the best of them, to the sounds of Trancecore, bangin Happy Hardcore and Jungle. Cheers + respect to Kev for stopping me during my set to get the whole crowd to sing me happy birthday! Respect to you too guys for being a wicked crowd! A really class vibe night in my book.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Escape From New York : [Sat 31st Oct 98] ==-


DJ's :- George Morel(US), Millie, Rudy, Dave Jackson, Steve Mason, Sonic.
Big Garage/House night for fans of US sounds in the place.
Venue :- Globe Entertainment Complex 343 Murray St 9pm - 7am...18+ event.
Anyone got at all?

--==*==--

-== Full Moon Party : [Wed 4th Nov 98] ==-


DJ's :- Choice, Jayd, Troy.
"Devotees of Trance are summoned to The Temple for this night, to free your mind and body."
Venue :- Gravity Nightclub, free entry all night...18+ only.
More info :- here

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Trilogy : [Sat 7th Nov 98] ==-


DJ's :- Mental, Internatty, Greg Packer, Amnesia, Echoic, Hutcho, Krank.
Earthline promotions presented this event "The New Beginning - fusing together the talent of the past and present...bringing you to the future generation of underground music with attractions of intelligent lighting and booming sound."
Unfortunately the upstairs Redheads Bar was pretty unsupported for this event, which happened to coincide with the Abduction pt.1 at Gravity...hence a 2am close. Shame, but respect to the promoters on their first event for trying.

--==*==--

[Abduction]
-== Abduction Part I : [Sat 7th Nov 98] ==-


DJ's :- Gary Gorbett(10-11), Size(11-12), Saxon(12-1), QBall(2-3), Rosko(3-4), Echoic(4-5), Mental(5-6).
Friday night sees the final Big Bud at Gravity as Raggabone move venues off to a new (as yet publicly unannounced) club.
"After nearly three years and more internationals than the Australian soccer team, Gravity will be closed due to an abduction".
Well this is where everyone seemed to end up Saturday it was packed and going off til 6:30am - i must thank Greg Packer for dropping our new vinyl - and yes he did get to do it first again! Also shout out to Mental for a wicked last set. Phew what a night.

--==*==--

[plastik 5]
-== Plastik5 : [Sat 14th Nov 98] ==-


Dave Angel(UK),Troy, Puff, Joel Harman and Mr.Whippy
This Delirium & Nexus "Plastik" event featured legendary UK godfather of House and Techno Dave Angel, who you would've thought Perth would have been hanging to experience his unique DJ style - raw, funky, smooth Techno/Acid, Tech Funk and House. After 3 years of trying and promises Delirium finally confirm a Perth date for this event...and Perth crowd stays away in droves. Most of those who did bother to go, stood around looking lost around the edge of the dancefloor, which at least left lots of room for those of us who wanted to dance...but what's the point of going to an event like this, hearing quality music like that and not dancing? Big disrespect to those people(posers)...especially one bloke who told me it wasn't "upfront enough" for him. Respect to Delirium for this one.
Venue :- Globe Nightclub 9pm till late.

--==*==--

[Abduction]
-== Abduction Part II : [Sat 14th Nov 98] ==-


DJ's :- Sniper(10-11), Subsonic(11-12), Freestyle(12-1), Menis(1-2), Corruption(2-3), Greg Packer(3-4), Scrappa(4-5), Splink-E(5-6).
Saturday night sees the final night of Gravity as Raggabone move venues off to the Globe Complex.
Gravity was very crowded this night, for what i presume most assumed to be the last night of the club...which it wasn't. The DJ's whilst i was there played good sets though...notably Freestyle and Splink-E...between their sets i was at Dave Angel.

--==*==--

-== The Last Drop : [Sat 14th Nov 98] ==-


DJ's :- Big Mac and Lilly.
Saturday night saw the final night at DC's as Raggabone move venues off to the Globe Complex.
DC's Nightclub was rammed to the roof this night, for what i presume most assumed to be the last night of the club...which again it wasn't. I guess this is where most of the Dave Angel crowd was....shame ya missed out.

--==*==--

[Futurevibe]
-== FuTuReViBe opening : [Sat 21st Nov 98] ==-


DJ's :- Hutcho + Kev(10-11pm), Freestyle(11-12), Greg Packer(12-1), Hutcho(1-2), Dutchy(2-3), Kev(3-4), Rob + Havoc (back2back 4-6).
MC's :- Interjecta, Kev, Sense & Preacher.
The backroom at DC's (ex-Gravity) re-opened in true Teknology Corps style...a huge night was had by all and many a sore head being nursed the next morning! The kegs lasted all of 30mins, but the crowd remained unperturbed at the bar and on the dancefloor. Freestyle dropping an uplifting Happy Hardcore set, whilst Greg Packer opted for the darkside tip of the Jungle. I hit em with some old school breaks and stompers. Dutchy reminded us of why Gabba goes off on a big night, Kev following with a set of whistle posse hardcore and Rob Fender and Havoc wrapped up the night with a great 2hr set of Trancecore. Phew what a big one. Thanks to all who came down, the MC's who all did a great job and to the Beechboro Boys...i think we won the drinking! hehe

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Acid pH 0.2 [Sat 21st Nov 98] ==-


DJ's :- Ondy, Twitch, Muse, Dr.Claw, Micah, Brennox, Time and Mikel.
With Jase from Outta Space(live)
The crew that brought you Ph1.0 - MBMA + this time EMAS Productions back again, and this time they brought a few friends along to help them make it the biggest Pines Rave ever. Shame this was the same night i would've loved to have gone...they're always wicked...and they were lucky with the weather which was bad on and off all week. Anyone?

--==*==--

[thumbnail]
-== Suck My Deck [Sat 21st Nov 98] ==-


DJ's :- Moosh(Court,DC's), Judith Elund(DC's), Trevor C(Redheads), Steve Kelly(Speed Garage), Cameron Germein(Jungle), Seyhan C(Jungle), Brett Fawell(Trance), DJ Dusta(Hardcore), Ranga(House).
A night of Trance, Jungle, Speed Garage and House played by some of Perth's up and coming DJ's.
I was told the Globe was pretty empty for this one and shut early...shame these guys need a break.

--==*==--

[Reunion]
-== Reunion 98 [Sat 28th Nov 98] ==-


DJ's :- See below...
The classic old-school tribute night returned...this time across three arenas...
  1. Classic House - JJ(11-12:30am), Jay, Hubba, Gully, Dirty Den, Dave Jackson, Steve Mason
  2. Classic Rave - Size, Hutcho(11-12:30am), Echoic, Miggy, Space Ace, Greg Packer
  3. All Ages 93-95 - QBall, Kev(4-5am), Krank, Kenny L, Scrappa, Rob Fender(1-2:30am)
Well once again it proved to be a big night when those who choose to hibernate during the year come out. All three arenas were attended well, the best being the two over-18 ones. The heat in the all-ages arena downstairs though was too much for me...so i stayed in the Classic Rave for most of the night. Size kicked off the night with a set of cool old breaks, which i then followed with a more 92/93 style set...ending up with banging stompers. Echoic was next, playing a mixture of Techno, breaks and Basement Records ending up with an impromptu back2back with Greg Packer. Miggy played next as Space Ace hadn't turned up and dropped a set of mixed classics and Big Beat/Trip Hop. Greg Packer came on the last two hours of the night and played a great set of harder-edged rave classics, the crowd wanting more but the bouncers saying otherwise. The main room ran until just after 6:30am and was rammed with Gully finishing up the night.
Overall a good night, the acid face decorations very popular with the souvenir-hunters. The crowd generally in the Classic Rave room was up and down, sometimes responsive other times quiet...i thought it lacked the same intense atmosphere as last year, although the extra room to dance was VERY welcome. One girl apparently hurt her head in the Carnival area on the Sumo Wrestling game.
Venue : Globe Entertainment Complex

--==*==--

[wicked city]
-== Wicked City [Sat 28th Nov 98] ==-


DJ's :- DJ Shinkawa(Japan), Etonic, Kreice, Little Tom, Micah vs Muse.
A rather unique event for "Players transformed into a realm in which Japanese technology, kitsch and Manga fuse with the traditions of the world before Monkey."
Something a little different if Old School and Reunion weren't your thing.
No idea how this went...anyone?

--==*==--

[loaded]
-== Loaded Dice : [Sat 5th Dec 98] ==-


DJ's :- BJam, Size, Diamond D, Adrian Sardi, Echoic vs Packer, Mental.
"Loaded Dice takes you towards the end of the year in style and only getting better with a Loaded Dice signature 3hr set from Echoic + Greg Packer".
These Players Nightclub-held events are well worth it and value for money...missed it cos i was at tha club...ah well.

--==*==--

[vibealite]
-== Vibealite : [Sat 12th Dec 98] ==-


Arena 1 (Hardcore, Trancecore, Jungle & Breakbeat) DJ's :- Lucky Luke(10pm), Scrappa(10:45pm), Greg Packer(11:30pm), DJ Sy(UK 12:30am), Sniper(2:00am), Hutcho(3:00am), Kev(4:00am), Freestyle(5:00am).
Arena 2 (Old Skool, Trance & Drum&Bass) DJ's :- Merrick(10pm), Brian Gee(11pm), Rhino(12:00am), Kev(1:00am), Mental(1:45am), DJ Sy(UK 2:30am), Splink-E(4:00am), Corruption(5:00am).
This event by well-known UK promoters Krafty Promotions/Vibealite, teamed them up with Choice Promotions and once again it was a big one...shame it had top be across two venues but still...it went off. I missed both of Sy's sets as i was between both venues all night...sigh...
(Arena 1 FuTuReViBe Nightclub) - Nice to hear Merrick on tha dex once again after quite a break. Brian Gee played a wicked old school set and really wound the crowd up, to make way for the rolling jungle of Rhino. Kev came on with a solid set of Happy Hardcore/Trancecore, before Mental rocked the building again with his Jungle bass. DJ Sy apparently went off with a set of different old school and bangin tunes. I missed Splinke, but someone said he did a cool set. Corruption wrapped up the night with nice old breaks and rave anthems.
(Arena 2 Stirling St.) - The only people i heard in here were Sniper, who dropped a nice solid set of bangin Hardcore, i slowed it down a bit with some Acid/Trancecore, before Kev and Freestyle wrapped up this arena with good sets of Happy Hardcore and classics.
Venue :- Due to the unfortunate problems with Gilkisons Dance Studio (see hot-news page), this event was held in two separate venues in order for both age groups to be able to attend.

--==*==--

[battle royale]
-== Battle Royale [Sat 12th Dec 98] ==-


DJ's :- Dan the Man vs Bilsby (Hip Hop 10pm), Echoic vs Andrew Vranjes (Big Beat 12am), Greg Packer vs Adrian Sardi (Jungle 2am), (4-6am Freestyle of Hip Hop, Big Beats + Jungle).
Rhythm Bug presents this event at the Players Nightclub, which was also Adrian Sardi's birthday (hope ya had a good one man) and also featured a B-Boy Jam - anyone?

--==*==--

[thumbnail]
-== Christmas Special Event [Fri 25th Dec 98] ==-


DJ's :- Damian Jay + Paul J(8-9:30 House set), Rob Fender + Havoc(9:30-11 Trancecore), Freestyle + Kev(11-12:30 Happy hardcore), Rhino + Mental(12:30-2:00 Jungle), Leroy + Menis(2:00-3:30 Happy Hardcore), Greg Packer(3:30-4:30 Drum+Bass), Hutcho + Splinke(4:30-6:00 Old School).
This was a donation party way out in Serpentine...which considering the Perth crew's reluctance to travel, was not supported too badly...about 200 or so turning up. A good outdoor setup, with laser etc was nice and different if you could get away from the family that night and move after Xmas dinner! it got shut down during my set with Splinke, not long after 5:15am - ah well. Respect out to Damian and Allen for putting it on.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Science Fiction : [Sat 26th Dec 98(Boxing Day)] ==-


DJ's :- (Room1) Derrick Carter(Chicago), Jon Hardy(Sydney), Dave Jackson, Dan the Man, Rudy, Martin L, Chad D and Emmanuel.
DJ's :- (Room2) Oliver Lieb LIVE(Germany), Space DJ'z(UK) on 4 dex, Mr.W, Puff, Troy, Kreice and with live support from locals Jase from Outta Space, NU-23.
Delirium presented their traditional Boxing Day Science Fiction event, this time at PICA bar over two rooms. This event looked huge as usual and like the 1997 one a huge crowd (+ the heat with it) resulted. I got down there about 4am and for one reason or another (which i won't go into here...) couldn't go in, but spent over 2hrs outside talking to old friends and making new ones. From what i heard the Space DJ's were cool, but went on early (which is why i missed them) and Oliver Lieb was DJ'ing - anyone else?

--==*==--

[thumbnail]
-== International Beatographic [Sat 26th Dec 98(Boxing Day)] ==-


DJ's :- Inertia, Echoic, Shep, Shuey, Boogieman, Krak and Anter.
This event marked the return of Inertia(ex-Perth PA) from Sydney back to showcase their new EP and although not packed the gig went well according to various people. See ya soon again lads i hope!

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Tsuyoshi Suzuki [Sat 26th Dec 98(Boxing Day)] ==-


DJ's :- Tsuyoshi Suzuki(Japan), Jayd, Choice, Christian, Muse, Big Mac, Sneak_e(Byron Bay).
Detour and Awarehouse presented this Japanese Psy-Trance DJ for this very different gig. I heard this was supported quite well, (although not rammed) but considering Science Fiction was on, Players and FuTuReViBe...lots of people were obviously out this night.

--==*==--

[thumbnail]
-== Sundaze : [Sun 27 Dec 98] ==-


DJ's :- Freestylers(UK), Funktank(live), Mallinder, Fat Fluid crew (Dan the Man, Royce, Bilsby), Saxon, Echoic, BJam, Echoic, Greg Packer, Adrian Sardi, Diamond D, Rosko, Shep and Shuey.
Offworld Productions and Cyan presented another joint production boxing day night. Featured act was UK big-beat act the Freestylers plus a live cut-up from Funktank. A second room will featured an early chill set from Mallinder then a whole night of jungle from the United Colours of Drum n Bass DJís BíJam, Echoic, Greg Packer, Adrian Sardi, Diamond D, Rosko, Shep and Shuey. I couldn't go due to prior commitments (actually i was too smashed to drive!) but from what i understand it was a good event and very crowded, but one comment was that the Drum+Bass lineup was badly timed with more popular DJ's on too early or too late. Busy weekend for Delirium though!

--==*==--

[thumbnail]
-== Alice in DC's Land / Stingin The Tail 6 [Thu 31 Dec 98(NY Eve)] ==-


Room 1 DJ's :- Steve Mason, Welly, Saul Bliss, Dazz*K.
Room 2 DJ's :- Splinke & Corruption, Greg Packer & Mental, Hutcho, Kevin & Dutchy, Menis & Sniper, Leroy & Freestyle.
Carnival Area DJ's :- Moosh, Judith + guests.
Well although our flyers were out rather later than planned a good crowd supported what obviously was a rave-starved crowd this night.
The Mountain Terrace alleyway was closed off, with carnival rides & other special attractions adding something different to the area...Sumo-suit wrestling, Inflatable Bungee Run(classic), Dunking Machine etc. I must say the heat was too much for me...and many others who used the alleyway as a mass chillout zone. The smaller of the two big events this night nevertheless proved to be a good one.

--==*==--

[Thumbnail]
-== Tasty 98 [Thu 31 Dec 98(NY Eve)] ==-


Detour(Hard House) DJ's :- Big Mac, Lilly, Dirty Den, Cody, Saxon, Rudy, Steve Mason, Cliff Barclay, Space Ace.
Gravity(Big Beat, Hip Hop, Drum n Bass) DJ's :- Bilsby, Dan the Man, Gary Corbett, Andrew Vranjes, Echoic, Greg Packer, Rosko, QBall, Jay.
Basement(Hardcore) DJ's :- Leroy, Greg Packer, Menis, Corruption, Splinke, Scrappa, Sniper, Pseudo.
The Globe Nightclub was the venue for this event, probably the best-supported on the night, with reports of a 2000+ crowd. People i spoke to though complained a lot about the Hardcore arena, the sound cutting out twice during the night and heat etc. Anyone got more comment?

--==*==--

[Back Home]

***
Ravers in through the door
Since October 2005.

 If you'd like to leave an opinion of interest to this page, contact me at joebloggz at hotmail.com 
 Graphics, text, comments ... Copyright © 1995-2015 Simon Hutchinson.